Charlotte, NC – January/ February 2024

I have to start out saying Thank You to the task force team I work with in Sales. Our company has changes from time to time that affects how we operate, who we report to and our teamwork is key. We don’t have a set office we report to, we often miss family gatherings and miss having off for certain holidays. But if one of us needs support, advice or someone to vent to – we are there. We are a small but mighty group, who handles much more than Sales.

Most of the time, we are on site at a hotel 10 days or more which includes 2 weekends a month. We have worked all week and are there for the fire alarms, power outages, groups that need extra attention, etc. If we listed everything we do, I would get bored reading it. So my Valentines Day, I did think about my husband and kids. But I also thought about my work group who will probably door dash, eat alone and not even consider it a special day. The GM I worked with on site made sure I got a heart shaped box of chocolates and Starbucks that day, which meant a lot. Obviously we know what we signed up for, but like any job we make sacrifices.

So…Charlotte, NC. First, you get points for mild weather. I am from Indiana, so any location that has temps higher than 40 is pretty awesome in my opinion. I was near the airport area, so I am fully aware of airport delays, cancellations etc that affect travel that’s nowhere near Charlotte. Airport area hotels can get a lot of distressed passengers who need lodging until their rescheduled flight. Therefore your staff must be welcoming, informed and helpful to these sometimes grumpy passengers. They arrive already upset, theirs plans changed beyond their control. Having the right person on the shuttle, at the front desk and bar is crucial. And during a power outage, fire alarm, severe weather, etc is even more important.

You can have the new hotel, or recently renovated one – but if the staff is not well trained and welcoming, it won’t matter long term. I have worked in new, renovated, or older hotels due for renovation – and your team is what matters. Because it matters to guests on how they are treated. Enough of my preaching, the question is where did I go in Charlotte? This was my 2nd trip, having worked in the area in December 2022. So go to that blog if curious, but I aim to have new info to share.

All of these listed are mostly South End Charlotte, which has the most dog friendly restaurants, bars, etc I have experienced. First example, Skiptown Dogpark and Bar. Yep, I walked in, ordered a local beer, sat down and other people’s dogs gave me attention. No, I was not creepy and didn’t even think about leaving with a dog but I missed home and Sophia.

Sophia

Moving on, The Eagle. While I try to go different places, this place warranted multiple visits. Fried chicken, brined and served with hot honey, sweet potatoes, grits and biscuits that I couldn’t handle with one visit- so I returned.

Skiptown
The Eagle

Sycamore Brewing was also a great place to relax, it was dog friendly and had indoor/ outdoor options.

Sycamore Brewing

Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream is always a must go for me. We have yet to have a location in IN but believe me, they know I want one. I will risk my lactose intolerance for this place. Enough said, and they have dairy free options which are just as heavenly.

Wooden Robot Brewery is next, blonde ale Good Morning Vietnam was a repeat favorite. The south end location was dog friendly and had a great coffee bar. Culinary Dropout was a short walk from Wooden Robot and is in downtown Charlotte. Loved the menu and am happy to hear that Indy is getting one.

View of downtown from South End

Overall, I love Charlotte and would go back anytime. Next? Dallas for training at Corporate, then back to…Philly! So excited to return and find some new places to love, and revisit old favs.

Keep traveling,

Jill

Leave a comment